Sunday, May 26, 2024
HomeSportCricketIPL 2024 Auction Mitchell Starc Emerge Most Expensive Player

IPL 2024 Auction Mitchell Starc Emerge Most Expensive Player

Mitchell Starc Sets Record as IPL’s Priciest Player in Historic 2024 Auction

The IPL 2024 auction witnessed historic moments as teams collectively spent Rs 230.45 crore to acquire 72 players, with 30 being overseas talents. The day unfolded with unprecedented excitement as the Rs 20 crore mark was surpassed. Initially, Pat Cummins secured a groundbreaking deal with SRH for Rs 20.50 crore, becoming the first player to breach the Rs 20-crore threshold. However, Mitchell Starc stole the spotlight when he shattered this record, securing a remarkable bid of Rs 24.75 crore from KKR, marking the highest-ever price for an IPL player.

Harshal Patel emerged as the costliest Indian player, joining PBKS for a substantial Rs 11.75 crore. The auction also saw surprises, including the uncapped batter Sameer Rizvi, who was acquired by CSK for Rs 8.4 crore. Notable overseas players like Daryl Mitchell (CSK), Alzarri Joseph (RCB), Rilee Rossouw (PBKS), Rovman Powell (RR), and Shahrukh Khan (GT) fetched significant amounts, ranging from Rs 7.40 crore to Rs 14 crore.

In contrast, the IPL auction had its share of intriguing picks and exclusions. Retired international cricketer David Willey, who recently left the international stage, found a new home with Lucknow Super Giants for Rs 2 crore. Kolkata Knight Riders secured England quick Gus Atkinson for Rs 1 crore, while Royal Challengers Bangalore invested Rs 1.5 crore in Surrey and England bowler Tom Curran. Additionally, Rajasthan Royals made a move for Somerset wicketkeeper-batter Tom Kohler-Cadmore, acquiring him for 40 lakh.

The auction also highlighted some notable absentees, with opener Phil Salt, leg-spinner Adil Rashid, and Australian players Steve Smith and Josh Hazlewood going unsold. Meanwhile, franchises retained prominent English players such as Moeen Ali (Chennai Super Kings), Jos Buttler (Rajasthan Royals), Jonny Bairstow, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone (Punjab Kings), Jason Roy (Kolkata Knight Riders), Will Jacks, Reece Topley (Royal Challengers Bangalore), and Mark Wood (Lucknow Super Giants).



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments